top of page

The Ghost at the Stables


The Ghost at the Stables

I thought I’d take some time to say in this poem…

that the Stables Restaurant is now my new home.

You may not recognize me, as I quietly slide by.

My soul remains here, though some say I died.

Once nearly blind, I can now see…

What goes on around here–brings pleasure to me.

If I were a human, I’d drink down a beer and ask you to join me in some good food and great cheer.

The land upon which the beauty lies was once my own… that’s why I spy.

From Oklahoma I’ll never roam.

I’m where I belong–this is my home.

A part of me will forever stay at this place where

I spent all of my living days.

There’s a capped oil well, of which you should be aware…

cause when it blows, we could meet somewhere…

I’m the one who signed the deed! Enjoy my land! May God speed!

It’s in Freedom, Oklahoma where my soul remains,

and until I choose to leave there, it’s where I intend to stay.

One day the gates of heaven will open wide and

I’ll go at last–to be with my bride.

Aileen waits patiently, with open arms.

It’s only she who understands…

How difficult it’s been… for me to leave my lands.

I eagerly watched the Stables birth…

Without my help, it would be just dirt.

So sit back and enjoy having me around.

I love where I am, my spirit abounds.

Buy me a beer and you will see

That you might just become very fond of me.

I was the first man to enter the new bar; and when I shot down

that first beer, I felt like a star.

My son and his love labored hard here…Respect who they are and if you dare…

Welcome them both, forever… Please let them know you care.

For without them, the Stables would not be.

I’ll stick around… now that you know…

My name’s Cecil Nixon… it’s me, I’m the ghost!

Thank you for being such a wonderful host while

I wait, for God’s mercy to carry me home.

When He does, I’ll go out with a storm.

So watch for a big one to take me away.

When it comes, don’t be afraid, to open the doors and allow my soul to stray.

I’ve had a good time, and I hope you have too.

Please promise to love often and never be blue.

I was a good man, that some will agree…

I’m happy you now know… the ghost is me.

Some may not believe what is written here, but I

“Swear on the Bible” … I’d enjoy a cold beer.

I enjoy listening to the music and to see people have fun…

Now you know, I’m not yet ready to run.

I miss the action of a great bull ride.

In ranching and farming, I took a great pride.

Some may say of the old horse trader…

“He’s had his last ride.”

So, friends toast and smile when you drink em’ down…

Take pleasure in knowing… I haven’t left town!

By:

Anita Waggoner

In fond memory of Cecil Nixon– A true cowboy and friend to all.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page