top of page

Farewell to Freedom


In Farewell to Freedom, Character Cheyenne Stevens expresses her feelings well:

Hello Friends... Hey... its Cheyenne Stevens...

When my pal Jennifer insisted I go with her to Las Vegas who knew I'd end up with a ruthless cowboy. Okay, a woman does weird things when she’s vulnerable and lonely. Had I stayed with my husband Ryan, despite his affairs, I would have been better off. But instead, I chose to run away to a place called Freedom. It was easier to be with the cowboy, then to handle the embarrassment of divorce. What in the hell was I thinking?

I certainly have my regrets about walking away from my family and friends. I should have stayed on the Island and faced the heartbreak. Eventually, it's sad to say, I found out that the cowboy and Freedom didn't deserve a woman like me.

An impulsive spirit, I spent a ton of money in Freedom trying to create my idea of an ideal world. There's no doubt, I'd lost my mind! Why buy a huge ranch and build an arena, western lodge and restaurant? All I did was work my ass off. Sure, it was “fun” owning bucking bulls and being on the ranch, after I bought into Rowdy's bull business, but the cost of being a female stock contractor wasn't worth the glory. At the guest ranch, I entertained cowboy wannabe’s from around the world, and met some pretty interesting people. And, you won’t believe this... I even got a call from Hollywood. They wanted to make me a reality TV star.

It didn't take me long to discover that the wind never stops blowing on the prairie; and in time, Rowdy’s drinking began to drive me crazy. Early on, I was in deep over my head. Rodeo bulls are expensive, and I bought several to add to the herd. It's an expensive and competitive sport! I had no idea what I was getting into. The cost of feeding those danged bulls, buying the ranch, trucks, trailers and everything that goes along with the glory... quickly took a huge toll on my pocketbook.

My heart was broken again when I discovered Rowdy was a womanizer. He loved women. Maybe I could have accepted his occasional affair, but he used my money to entertain the bitches and took them to my bed when I was out of town. And that’s not all that went on! His freeloading buddies ate and drank at the restaurant for free. Rowdy went from drinking a few beers a day to starting his day with a beer in the shower and ending it with expensive vodka and fine red wine at night. Maybe he drank to cope with the guilt, who knows? What I do know is that his drinking ruined a good thing.

My money disappeared fast. After a few years, when I looked into the mirror at the end of the day, I didn’t recognize myself. The hard work and impossible situation took a huge toll. I wanted out! I thought I had the place sold to a guy from Vegas, but the scammer skipped town after the fire.

Are you ready for some good news? I finally sold the ranch, but the buyer doesn’t want the lodge. I’m closing it down and heading for Arizona until I can find a buyer.

Few would believe what I went through in Freedom! I'm going to write a book! My life here has truly been a new day western saga. Hell yes! I'll call it Farewell to Freedom.

Cheyenne

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page